Small Flower Hair Pins

I had a wedding to go to and I have this amazing pair of green shoes with silver heels.  They are so pretty, I just had to wear them.  I was wearing a black dress and felt that I needed to incorporate more green into my look so I decided to make some wee green flowers to put in my hair.  This pattern is super quick and easy.  I crocheted 4 of them in about 5 minutes.  I did end up dying them the night before the wedding because I didn’t have any thread or yarn the same shade of green as my shoes.  So I whipped them up with white thread and painted them.
IMG_7240  

 

IMG_7237IMG_7188

Small Flower Hair Pins

© Nyela d’Endel 2014

Materials

Thread or yarn (I used Aunt Lydia Classic 10 in white)
3.0 mm hook
black 2 inch bobby pin

No gauge required

Abbreviations

ch = chain
sc = single crochet
dc = double crochet
sl st = slip stitch
F/O = fasten off

 Instructions

  1. Making sure to leave a tail about 2-3 inches long, 4 sc in a magic ring, sl st to close.
  2. Ch 2, 1 dc in same sc as chain, sl st in the same sc.  *Ch2, 1 dc in next sc, sl st in the same sc*.  Repeat from * to * 3 more times for a total of 5 petals.
  3. F/O and make sure to leave a long tail, approx 4-5 inches.
  4. Weave tail down to the centre hole on the wrong side of the flower and bring up to the right side.  Make a French knot (see directions below) and bring the needle down, through the centre to the wrong side.
  5. Tie a knot around a bobby pin and cut the tails short.  Add a dab of hot glue if you want to permanently attach the flower to the bobby pin.

IMG_7235

*French Knot*

  • Step 1. Make a stitch so that the needle is on right side of your work.
  • Step 2. Looking at the right side of your work, wrap your needle around the thread (or yarn) 2 times (when working with thinner thread I wrap around 3-4 times, depending on thickness of thread.
  • Step 3. Holding on tightly to the thread close to the base, insert your needle very close to where you stitched through but not in the same hole, stitch back down to the wrong side of your work, slowly pulling the knot off your needle and on to the thread and then pull the knot in place.

I hope this makes sense to you.  Here is a link to a video tutorial that may be of more help.

I painted my flowers with watercolour paints to match the pair of shoes I was wearing (which were green and silver) and I used a silver Sharpie Marker to colour in the flower’s centre.  IMG_7187IMG_7239

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 


Nyela d’Endel xoxo

 

2 thoughts on “Small Flower Hair Pins

  1. Pingback: Toddler Hair Tie | Just a thought

Leave a Reply

